Events from SerialPort

Jul 20, 2007 at 1:39 PM
Hello,

I am trying to use the eventing lirary to read data from a Serial Port using the System.IO.Ports.SerialPort class. I have sucessfully declared the object and connected the event library using connect-eventlistener. I get back the colllection of DataReceived events from the port, but am stuck in trying to read the actual data returned.

I am relatively new at PowerShell and .NET framework, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bob

PS - Here's a transcript:

PS C:\PoSHeventing> $port

BaseStream : System.IO.Ports.SerialStream
BaudRate : 1200
BreakState : False
BytesToWrite : 0
BytesToRead : 21
CDHolding : False
CtsHolding : False
DataBits : 8
DiscardNull : False
DsrHolding : False
DtrEnable : False
Encoding : System.Text.ASCIIEncoding
Handshake : None
IsOpen : True
NewLine :

Parity : None
ParityReplace : 63
PortName : COM1
ReadBufferSize : 4096
ReadTimeout : -1
ReceivedBytesThreshold : 1
RtsEnable : False
StopBits : One
WriteBufferSize : 2048
WriteTimeout : -1
Site :
Container :

PS C:\PoSHeventing> get-eventbinding port

VariableName EventName TypeName Listening
------------ --------- -------- ---------
port DataReceived SerialPort True

PS C:\PoSHeventing> $events
PS C:\PoSHeventing> $event

Occurred Source Name Args
-------- ------ ---- ----
7/20/2007 8:24:13 AM System.Management.Automati... DataReceived System.IO.Ports.SerialData...
7/20/2007 8:24:13 AM System.Management.Automati... DataReceived System.IO.Ports.SerialData...

PS C:\PoSHeventing> $event0

Coordinator
Jul 23, 2007 at 7:13 PM
Hi Rob,

I don't really know a lot about working with serial ports, but I've attempted to translate a working c# into powershell script using this source: http://mark.michaelis.net/Blog/TheBasicsOfSystemIOPortsSerialPort.aspx

it appears the general idea is to wait on the datareceived events then read the waiting data by calling the ReadExisting method on the port object itself:

$data = $port.ReadExisting()